Surface

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Modules > Digital Terrain Modelling Module > Data > Import Data > DXF >

Surface

When importing DXF files into the Surfaces:

•Vertices from most DXF entities are imported as Nodes

•3D Faces can be imported as Nodes or Elements.

To import surface data:

•Activate the Nodes to import data into.

•Click File > Import > DXF.

dlgImportDXF

•Select an action if data exists in the active Data Grid row:

oRetain Data and append new data

oDelete Data without Undo

oDelete Data with Undo

oGenerate New Data Structures (Add a new surface)

oCancel the data import

•Use the File Open Dialog to select the DXF File.

•Click Open.

•Select DXF Import Dialog options for:

oLayers

oEntities

•Click OK.

Layer Import Options

dlgImportDXFLayers

Use the "Import" and "Don't Import" lists to specify layers to import.

Entity Import Options

dlgImportDXFEntitiesNodes

Select the entities to import:

•Points/Vertices: Import DXF points and/or vertices.

•DXF Lines

oSelect DXF line types to import:

▪Lines; and/or

▪Polylines; and or

▪LW Polylines.

oTo interpolate nodes along DXF lines:

▪Tick the Interpolate Nodes Box

▪Specify the Node Spacing

•3D Faces:

oImport 3D Faces as Nodes or Elements:

▪Nodes: Import the points defining the 3D face as Nodes:

oTo add additional Nodes along the 3D Faces edges:

oTick the Interpolate Nodes Box

oSpecify the Node Spacing

▪Elements: Import the 3D Faces as Elements.